Beaver College of Health Sciences Announces College Award Recipients

The Beaver College of Health Sciences recently held its opening meeting at Levine Hall, and announced recipients of its 2022 faculty and staff awards. 

 Winners of the faculty and staff awards are: 

Parachute Award

Daniel Jones with Dr. Denise LevyDaniel Jones (Information Technology) 
“We are also grateful to Daniel for helping other departments and areas across campus when they are utilizing our facilities. He is a true problem solver and we are always happy when he pops up in our offices and classrooms like a true superhero to help whenever we call.”

Research/Scholarly Endeavor 

Dr. Leah Hamilton and Dr. Sandi Lane

Dr. Leah Hamilton (Social Work) 
Leah is committed to advancing social justice and to the goal of discovering effective solutions to poverty and has been recognized nationally and internationally. She has 18 peer-reviewed journal articles and numerous presentations (reviewed and invited) in multiple countries, has also received $870,000 in internal and external grants and been interviewed as a topic expert by The Economist, the Wall Street Journal, Fast Company, and CNBC.

 Dr. Sandi Lane (Healthcare Administration)
Sandi has focused much of her research effort on key national issues of emergency preparedness and factors affecting nursing home resilience including an emphasis on factors contributing to the spread of COVID-19 and determinants of health among nursing home residents. She has 16 peer-reviewed publications, internal grant funding, and has current external funding from the National Long Term Care Administrators Board.

Outstanding Teaching 

Rebekah Almond and Dr. Jordan Hazelwood

Rebekah Almond (Nursing)
Rebekah supports her students in both clinical and simulation environments, and has been called “organized, approachable, kind, patient, thoughtful, innovative and creative.”  In addition to her work with students, she mentors other nursing faculty who say that she “leads by example, and keeps her pulse on the latest evidence in practice and teaching.”

Dr. Jordan Hazelwood (Rehabilitation Sciences) 
Jordan’s students call her “one of the best professors” they have ever had, and appreciate her engaging, hands on, and creative teaching style that gets the entire class involved in discussions.  Jordan also partners with her Athletic Training colleagues to introduce her students to anatomy and body systems in our anatomy labs. 

Outstanding Service Award

 Dean Marie Huff and Jennifer Schroeder tyson

Jennifer Schroeder Tyson (Public Health and Exercise Science)
Jennifer leads our Public Health Think Tank, is the principal investigator on an AmeriCorps grant which will bring 15 AmeriCorps members to support health and resilience in our region, serves as a supportive executive council member with the NC Climate Change Interagency Council, is a leader in many area public health efforts, and much, much more.  She does all of this work and more with humility, passion, and a collaborative spirit. 

 Outstanding Professional/Administrative Staff 

Jessica Donley Phillips Lynn Van EssJessica Donley Phillips (Dean’s Office)
“Jessica deserves all of the gold stars and awards.  She is conscientious and diligent and collaborative. She goes above and beyond to support and communicate with colleagues within and outside of the college.”

Lynn Van Hess (Nutrition and Healthcare Management)
Lynn has an incredibly strong work ethic, always has a positive / can do attitude, and is an asset to her department and to the college.  Her work is often used as a sample for others, she holds herself to the highest standard, and we simply couldn’t do what we do without her.  

Inclusive Excellence Champions

John Arrowood and Dr. Alisha FarrisJohn Arrowood (Nutrition)
John’s liaison colleagues say that John has an important and valuable voice in team meetings, offers insightful comments, and is a role model for inclusion efforts.  He has volunteered to lead various initiatives and events, including co-leading the Difficult Conversations practice sessions and the First Generation documentary discussion.

Dr. Alisha Farris (Nutrition)
Alisha has been the guiding force behind our Everyone Eats Food Pantry in Levine Hall which provides food, clothing, books, hygiene products, and more to students and employees.  She has worked tirelessly to bring together faculty, staff, students, and student groups to support the pantry.

Interprofessional Champions 

Dr. Gail McCullough and Lee Wittmann

Dr. Kim McCullough (Rehabilitation Sciences)
Kim’s work with the interprofessional badge program, the case study and other IPE events, mentoring other faculty and IPE fellows, bringing people together, providing resources online, and more leaves a solid foundation for the future of interprofessional education in the college.

Lee Wittmann (Nursing)
Lee has done an outstanding job of connecting with multiple disciplines and groups through simulation, including involvement with the Wake Forest PA students and the App Regional Family Practice Residents.  He is always willing to showcase the labs to prospective students and visitors during Open House and other events, and he continues to brainstorm how to bring other disciplines into the simulation and other labs so that students can experience the labs together in an interprofessional environment. 

Making A Difference Award

Dean Marie Huff and Dr. Ben RussellDr. Ben Russell (Rehabilitation Sciences)
Ben has singlehandedly improved the quality of audiological services available to our community.  Last year, Ben had over 550 patient appointments, and served more than 330 individuals. He has also developed collaborations to benefit our community, including establishing a partnership with the UNC Chapel Hill Cochlear Implant team so that their patients who live in Boone can receive implant programming in our clinic, collaborating with area agencies and schools to provide diagnostic screenings to newborns and children, and developing an agreement with App State’s Department of Environmental Health, Safety, and Emergency Management so that employees who are at risk of noise exposure receive annual screenings.  




Photo of Appalachian medallion
Published: Aug 31, 2022 2:08pm