Dr. Fred Whitt's New Endeavor

It is with heavy hearts that we announce Founding Dean Fred Whitt’s decision to leave Appalachian State University this spring to become the 12th President of Lenoir-Rhyne University.  Dean Whitt will succeed the retiring President, Dr. Wayne B. Powell, in 2017.

Founding Dean Whitt joined the Beaver College of Health Sciences (BCHS) in 2010. His leadership, passion for excellence, and development of significant community partnerships has led to the success of our college. Under Dean Whitt’s leadership, BCHS is now the second largest college at Appalachian State University, with approximately 3400 majors in 10 undergraduate programs and 6 graduate programs.

Dean Whitt was an integral part of securing the funding and development for our new health sciences building, scheduled for completion in 2018. He also helped establish the collaboration with Wake Forest School of Medicine’s PA Program, the first partnership of its kind in the UNC system. He secured funding for two endowed professorships, and was responsible for establishing the Dean’s Scholarship, now the third most prestigious scholarship at Appalachian.

To say we will miss Dr. Whitt and his leadership is an understatement! We wish him continued success in his newest endeavor with Lenoir-Rhyne University.

Lenoir-Rhyne's Press Release

Dr, Fred Whitt
Published: Oct 24, 2016 10:14am